Venues

95 Keerom

95 Keerom
Write a Review
Cost
R190 avg main meal
Ambience
Classic elegance
Food
Fine-dining food, Italian
Payment
Amex, Mastercard, Visa
500
EatOut_500_Web
EatOutDecal_500[4]

Critic's review

Greg Landman

Food
Giorgio Nava has been holding sway here for many years: urbane and a talented chef to boot – a formidable combination. This popular place continues to attract aficionados who know a good thing when they see it. Try the beef tartare, one of the best in town, hand chopped (is there any other way?) anointed with the finest olive oil from Morgenster and the rest of the essentials, a triumph. Then there are the carpaccios, as thin as the finest lace, you can see right through them, beef drizzled with mayonnaise, or one with fresh tomato and rocket, or palm hearts and parmesan cheese. The carpaccio of fresh Norwegian salmon is a sublime alternative. Try the seared carpaccios for something different. Pasta fatta in casa includes fabulous ravioli stuffed with butternut or spinach topped with sage butter and parmesan and gnocchi with a rich gorgonzola sauce with chopped walnuts. Much of the meat are from Giorgio’s own farms and come in many different forms with great sauces. The osso buco served with polenta is worth leaving home for. Desserts of tiramisu and baba au rhum make for a satisfying conclusion to a delightful course.

Drinks
They boast an excellent wine list featuring many Cape treasures and a good Italian selection. Top French champagnes like Krug are also available, though not cheaply.

Service 
Smooth and pleasant with Giorgio often there himself taking orders.

Ambience
Coolly comfortable with plenty of light wood furnishings, relaxed in the sophisticated Italian manner. On the top floor a tree grows charmingly in the centre of the room. Cosy and warm in winter, especially in the small spaces downstairs, just the place for an intimate meal with someone special.

And...
Parking can be a bind so go into Queen Victoria Street where there is a parking lot behind the building.

(September 2016)

Eat Out reviewers dine anonymously and pay for their meals in full. Click here to read our editorial policy.

  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Food
  • Ishay Govender-Ypma

    Food
    On any given evening, you’ll be hard pressed to find and open table upstairs (or a parking spot in the road) at this ever popular restaurant. The menu has remained the same for years, and if there is a downfall, this is probably it. Regulars will disagree, being loyal to the well-loved array of carpaccio, particularly the signature Il Carpaccio “95” with rocket and shavings of Parmesan cheese; there’s a seared line fish too, prepared in a similar fashion. The small plate of award-winning pasta (it won at the World Pasta Championship competition in 2013) consisting of cavatelli, broccoli cream, anchovies and oregano flowers, if available, is a must. It shows an elegant simplicity and embodies Nava’s yearning for classic, uncomplicated Italian fare. The sliced prime rib with garlic and olive oil is a very good choice, and the same goes for the ossobuco (one of the best in the city) and the veal cutlet with butter and sage. The crayfish pasta is a little disappointing for the price. If tiramisu is your flavour, 95 Keerom does a feather-light, dreamy version to end the meal on a sweet note.

    Drinks
    They offer an extensive wine list with excellent Italian wines by the glass. It’s a good way to try those varietals that aren’t too easy to find in South Africa.

    Service
    From the welcome at the front door, and valet parking (if you’re lucky enough to have nabbed a spot), through to seating, the service is slick. It can be a little hard to flag staff down once the restaurant fills up.

    Ambience
    Swish and elegant, the restaurant is accustomed to a moneyed crowd. The restaurant remains stylish with its clean lines, distinctly Milanese aesthetic of Milan-born chef Giorgio Nava, and soft ambient lighting. The tree that emerges through the floor upstairs pays homage, in a way, to the storied history of the space, once part of the stables and lodging of the Company Garden’s slaves. Segments of original brickwork and facades have been carefully preserved. Here you’ll find advocates and lawyers from the neighbouring chambers concluding business over expertly made meals, but also courting couples and small groups enjoying celebrations. This is the ideal setting for a romantic night out.

    And …
    Opt for the rich, buttery polenta with Parmesan to accompany your mains. But do share!

    (August 2015)

  • Eat Out

    Food 
    Authentic, really well-made Italian food is the name of the game here. From the interesting range of carpaccios and tartares available as starters, through to the various pastas and expertly presented mains, it’s really hard to make a wrong order decision at this restaurant. Start by enjoying the fresh flavours of a beef tartare with rocket and parmesan shavings, or perhaps the fish tartare of tuna and salmon served with creamy avocado – delicious. Fans (and there are many) rave about the very tasty butternut ravioli with sage butter; and the gnocchi with gorgonzola manages to be rich and creamy but still perfectly light – perhaps the best gnocchi in town. As for the meatier fare, the lamb chops are a hit, but the same goes for almost all of the meaty dishes – the fillet with olive oil and rosemary is sliced and grilled to perfection, and goes wonderfully with a choice of bean salad. Seafood also gets the star treatment here: a beautifully seared serving of Norwegian salmon simply melts in the mouth. Desserts include semifreddo, gelato and the now famous chocolate fondant, which just never gets old.

    Drinks 
    A nice if expensive selection. You can order a few MCCs by the glass and the list also features an Italian section, which adds an authentic touch.

    Service 
    Friendly and gracious reception upon arrival and departure; however, the rest of the experience can seem a touch distracted at times. It can be hard to catch a waiter’s eye. Some thoughtful attention here would not go amiss.

    Ambience
    This remains one of the most stylish restaurants in town, with clean lines, pale wood, an enormous glass front facing the city and that old, famed olive tree now in its senior years. The atmosphere is relaxed and cosmopolitan, with several overseas languages drifting through the air. A touch of background music won’t go amiss, though – if you get there early in the evening there’s only the hum of the air con and the bar fridge to keep you company …

    And...
    The small downstairs bar should not be overlooked: it’s a lovely spot to enjoy an excellent martini before heading upstairs for dinner.

    (August 2014)

  • Authentic but unfussy Italian food in a stylish, romantic setting. The reputation of chef-patron Giorgio Nava is thoroughly deserved – his insistence on perfection is reflected in every dish. Highlights include butternut and ricotta ravioli; beef carpaccio; gnocchi with gorgonzola and walnuts; and molten chocolate fondant. (Eat Out magazine 2014)
  • Food
    Lauded restaurateur Giorgio Nava brings you classic Italian cooking that is delicate, with prime emphasis on fresh ingredients and simplicity. Several dishes have garnered a fan base over the years, including the carpaccio in various styles, the butternut ravioli with sage butter, and the rolled pork topped with mushroom sauce.

    Wine
    Extensive South African and Italian wines at various price points. Good opportunity to try a chianti.

    Service
    Experienced, attentive staff.

    Ambience
    Sophisticated, but warm. The tree upstairs adds an enchanted feeling to the experience. The restaurant fills up with business types and couples on special dates.

    And...
    Do not miss the soft polenta with Parmesan. The fall-apart slow-cooked springbok in tomato sauce is perfect on a cold night. (IGY, October 2012)
  • Bernadette Le Roux

    The atmosphere lends itself perfectly to a business meeting at lunchtime; it can be stark otherwise during the day. Recommended for a romantic meal or meal with friends, dinner is best. It’s elegant and atmospheric at night. Food is authentic and truly exceptional. You can't go wrong with the pasta dishes, which are all handmade on the premises. I have been eating at 95 Keerom since they opened some years back now. It has to be one of the most consistent restaurants around and has become a true Cape Town establishment. I recommend the butternut ravioli with burnt butter and sage and all of the carpaccio starters. (July 2013)
  • Jeanne Calitz

    I love the food at this consistently excellent restaurant. Every year my husband asks where I want to go for my birthday supper, and every year I say, “Please take me to 95 Keerom.” The food is wonderful and not overly fussy, which I love. The location – that olive tree, all that glass and warm wood finishes – is so stylish. And the staff treat you like a rock star. Recommended for a romantic date. Best dishes? How much time do you have? The hunk of burrata mozzarella in the caprese salad is so fresh and creamy, it nearly brings me to tears. My husband is equally infatuated with the beef carpaccio with fresh tomato and rocket. The gnocchi with gorgonzola and walnuts will change forever your perception of gnocchi. And the desserts? Well just let me say, my kingdom for that chocolate soufflé! (July 2013)
  • Anelde Greeff

    Chef and owner Giorgio Nava is a genius. This is definitely one of the highlights on the Cape Town dining scene. An institution, 95 Keerom is one of those places that I keep going back to. Recommended for a romantic date and the chocolate fondant. (July 2013)
  • Sam Woulidge

    95 Keerom gets it consistently right. Authentic Italian food in sophisticated surroundings. Recommended for a romantic date, the butternut and ricotta ravioli, carpaccio and the molten chocolate dessert. (July 2013)

User reviews

  • I couldn't agree more with some of the reviews, the owner Giorgio has taken off his focus from Keuroom 95. There seems to be no management, and if there is, no interest in the client anymore. As regular clients we recently had a rather bizarre experience. We left by mistake ZAR 2000,00 on the table, realised the mistake outside, phoned immediately and the money was gone already. We had paid tip already generously by credit card. As the managing director of Penguin Tours we regularly bring clients to Keuroom 95. I left 4 messages with various managers for the owner Giorgio to please call me back, but none was returned. I finally phoned him myself, he promised a follow up, and again, he did not bother to call back. We will certainly not recommend Keuroom 95 to any of our clients anymore, neither are we going there for dinner ourselves again. It seems like somebody is covering up for something. Like one can see so often in the hospitality industry, lack of management and interest by the owner send this place down.....
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • I agree with Chris Read, the owner has taken his eye off this estabishment. The management is really bad, the place is dirty especially the toilets. The serving staff is arrogant, and incompetent, they pay NO attention to getting orders right. Food is not what it used to be. Once a favourite, now I would even think of going back.. was really a unpleasant experience.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • 95 Keerom is located at the end of a downtown street and across from its sister restaurant Carne. The building is quite old, and originally used to house slaves. Most recently it housed a law office. Some of the interior has been restored, which makes it quaint as well as a little eerie, Upon our arrival, we were informed that due to the roving blackouts, power may be cut off in an hour. Fast forward, luckily the power was never cut off. The menu is quite extensive. We started with the Insalata Caprese which was your basic tomato, mozzarella and basil salad. However, this salad was not basic because the mozzarella was some of the best I've tasted; extremely creamy. We also tried the Pasta Geogio which was an entry in the World Pasta Championship. This was a generous portion of small pasta shells with broccoli puree, anchovies, fresh tomato, bread crumbs and oregano. Excellent dish but very filling for a starter so it's a good idea to share it. We both had La Selvaggina as our main entrée, which consisted of black wildebeest, kudu, springbok grilled rare to medium rare with olive oil and rosemary. All of the meats were tender and delicious. We were extremely pleased with our selections but unfortunately had no room to try their homemade desserts. With the food and service both of high caliber, this restaurant comes highly recommended and is extremely reasonable in cost when compared to restaurants in US and Europe. Even if you are from South Africa, splurge, it's well worth every penny (rand).
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Last night was one of the best meals i have had in a long time. We did not have a reservation, but the manager asked us to sit at the bar while he tried to make a plan for us. 10 minutes later we had one, and it was definitely worth the wait. May Carpaccio was perfection, Osso Bucco one of the best I have had, and the chocolate fondant is to die for. Simple, discreet service which was prompt, but not hurried, good wine recommendations, and the manager was all over the place at all times, constantly checking to see if everyone had what they needed. I was very impressed and will definitely be back!
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • It's is really sad when your favorite restaurant no longer comes up to par! The menu is the same as it was three years ago and in my opinion needs a refresh please. The atmosphere on the night we went was cold and has definitely changed for the worse! The service was good but the waiters were almost soulless.

    With respect to the food our starters were disappointing - the seared carpaccio was watery and the tomato and rocket over powered the dish. Our mains were good - the lamb chops were excellent and the rib eye steak was very tasty but not special!

    Unfortunately, I think Giorgio has taken his eye off his jewel in his crown and maybe needs to come back and weave some new magic back into the restaurant!
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Giorgio made the best spinach/ricotta ravioli and sage butter I have had. Have been marginally disappointed when he was not there but kitchens are a work of art in progress. Gets my vote 10/10
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Absolutely wonderful evening- we requested last minute to sit upstairs- the GM obliged- mussels, osso bucco and polenta all cooked to absolute perfection. Unfortunately- our waitress was pushy and cold. She did not make explicit that one must order two courses- nor did she refrain from producing the bill as we sat with coffee-only seconds after she asked if we were ready to pay. Wonderful food and ambience tainted by a server with no personality who was keen for as many tables as possible and as quickly.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Poor food - pork tasted like game! Complained at restaurant, no reply to written complaint and when manager contacted he was abusive, shouting down the phone  - a scandalous reaction.

    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Great food; pleasant ambience; awesome winelist. Not good service. Staff are not attentive, and all look rather sullen. It's a shame.

    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Had a tasty meal but felt annoyed that we had to order 2 courses, which isn't clear on the website.

    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Great food and atmosphere, but the highlight was our waiter Khanyisa. He was personable, warm, and knowledgeable. Great service!

    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • We had an excellent evening at 95. Attentive service and excellent food in a charming setting.

    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • I travel all over the world and am a fan of Italian food, 95 Keerom so far is the best. Fresh traditional dishes, prepared at their best. Very attentive service. Stylish interior and an incredible wine list of Italian and local wines. Highly recommended.

    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Incredible evening spent at this restuarant, delicious food - the line fish is to die for! Attentive service and a very large selection of wines to choose from. Highly recommended.

    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Very disappointed, considering the reviews we read prior to booking this for a special occasion. Wine list was average. Waiter was increasingly inattentive as the evening progressed. Dessert was terrible. Carpaccio was good though. Food presentation below par. Would not recommend for a special occasion.

    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Distinctly average and disappointing - with condescending wait service.

    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • I had a great experience, even for Valentine's Day, when I expected rushed service. No tacky Valentine's set menus, just the usual excellent food, carpaccio, spinach ravioli, beef tagliata and the double chocolate fondant. Brisk service and Giorgio's customary table visit to recite the specials made it a great night out.

    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • My family and I went for dinner at 95 Keerom last weekend. It will be our last time as well. The service (our waiter) was a disgrace. Rattling off the specials, mumbling things by the orders of the ladies ( 2 starters ).
    The ladies' pasta was almost left untouched (way too oily). Finally, but not least when paying the bill, the waiter "demanded" 10% tip. He tapped on my wife's shoulder and said you did not tip me enough. If it is compulsory this should be mensioned in the menu at least. By the way we tipped 8,5 % ( for 4 people).
    Anyway, a very sad experience.

    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Over rated.

    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Well, I always read about Keerom and when a bunch of friends decided to go to Cape town, we decided to try it out. I must say, I expected great food and got better than great, it was excellent! The carpaccio was melt in the mouth and though all of us had different mains, we were all very happy. Service was excellent, food was gastronomic, wine was great, thus six very happy people!

    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • For a fine dining experience, this was my worst one so far. We were seated, then had to listen to the manageress argue with staff members about time keeping for approximately 15 minutes. Then a still surly waiter came to take our order and was rather disinterested in us for the remainder of the meal. The beef carpaccio and ravioli was just nice, the line fish carpaccio and lamb chops were lucklustre and the ambience...well there was none. No music, no candles, it was as quiet as a tomb when we got there and the funeral feel did not end there. Did not stay for dessert. Obviously.

    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • The best Italian restaurant in South Africa! I never fail to go there when I am in Cape Town and the 10 times I have been there, the food and atmosphere never fails to exceed expectations. Highly recommended for a special evening!

    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Amazing! The food is just gorgeous and amazing! One of my favourite restaurants in Cape Town!

    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • My absolute favourite Italian... regardless of location (and that includes Italy!)
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Ate here on 25/3/11, superb! Particularly the Insalata Caprese, I have never tasted better Mozzarella.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Husband, mother-in-law and I went for dinner there on Monday night - we were blown away. Giorgios hosting skills, the well trained staff and the food were all amazing. Love his rustic Italian cooking with honest flavors and an obvious passion for Italia - well done Giorgio! Your restaurant is beautiful, as is your food - a great find and we will be back time and time again.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food

  • We had dinner at 95 Keerom last week on Wednesday night. To Giorgio and his
    staff - that was quite possibly the best Italian meal we have ever had.
    Your restaurant is so beautiful, contemporary, yet with a lot of soul and
    history - fantastic service, the food was faultless and we had a wonderful
    evening. Congratulations for what you have achieved - what a pleasure to
    have such quality and perfection in SA,

    kind regards
    Fiona Reid
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Simply selected real good Italian food.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Suzanne, I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience at 95. I would like to address the situation personally and ask that you contact me on info@95keerom.com RegardsGiorgio Nava (Owner)
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • What a disgrace! Our waiter was not even suited to work in a takeaway place let alone a supposedly 5-star establishment such as this. Management nowhere to be seen and we were not looked after whatsoever on a very special occasion, which we came here to celebrate. Food was good but was completely detracted from by the abysmal service! Half our starters did not arrive as the waiter had understood those to be part of mains! Our mains arrived an hour and a half after we had finished our starters and the waiter was nowhere to be found for an explanation. This restaurant is horrible. Cape Town is filled with fantastic Italian restaurants- avoid this one at all costs!
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • On Saturday 17 April 2010, we decided to break our routine and instead of dining at 95 Keerom, we crossed the road to Carne and enjoyed a fantastic meal. The only thing lacking from the menu at Carne is the most amazing tiramisu Cape Town has to offer, so having a serious sweet tooth, we decided to rather have dessert at 95. Being regulars here (we dine at 95, 2 - 3 times a month) we were shattered to be told by Bronwyn (the hostess) that she wouldnt seat us for dessert (despite it being after dinner service and the restaurant half empty) as this was against policy and she wasnt going to get involved. Beyond the fact that we eat there regularly and were therefore taken aback by her not seating us, Bronwyns attitude was appalling. From the minute we walked in the door it was an effort for her to drag herself from her seat at the bar and the way in which she handled the situation left much to be desired. Whilst I am a huge fan of Giorgios restaurants and will say that up until this event have never received anything less than superb service at both his restaurants, this has left and extremely bad taste and I can’t help but hold back on my return.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Everything is superb. The quality of the food is inimitable, divine. Each product is made or cultivated by the chef Giorgio Nava on his farm in the Karoo. I ate a delicious bread, really Italian focaccia, a superb carpaccio 95 with fresh homemade mayonnaise, really italian homemade pumpkin ravioli and the best ice cream in South Africa. The service is excellent and the atmosphere very warm.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • This is by far one of our favourite restaurants, and we have dined here on numerous occasions and if it werent so, I would not bother to share our recent experience. We were booked at 7pm for 4 January 2010 (table for 6) and arrived on time. From the moment we arrived we were rushed to make our choices from the menu. We were then rushed when making our wine choices and then finally, rushed to make our dessert choice. The salads we ordered were heavily oversalted with salt crystals crunching as we ate. The waiter hovered anxiously and the management walked through often glancing at our table seemingly to check on how speedily (or not) we were dining. We are not hesitant to pay a premium for beautifully prepared food, but just this once we left feeling somewhat cheated. Our out-of-town guests did too, unfortunately.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • We decided to end our holiday in Cape Town by treating ourselves to dinner at 95 Keerom, as it had been highly recommended by various people. We have very mixed emotions about our experience. The food cannot be faulted on any level. The Carpaccio was exquisite, as were the rolled pork and white wine chicken. The overall ambience, however, just did not sit right with us. Perhaps it was our early arrival that threw the staff off, but we were treated to kitchen staff catching up on their beauty sleep in the outside smoking area, and could quite clearly see other kitchen staff eating in the kitchen, something which should never occur in a restaurant of this calibre. It may also be attributed to the fact that the owner had not yet arrived when this was taking place. When the owner did arrived, things seemed to suddenly snap into place, with staff becoming a lot friendlier and more professional. We also found that when the specials were explained by the owner, they seemed to be very rehearsed and detached. But I supposed we are all entitled to a bad day. Our ambience problems aside, our waiter, Andre, was an absolute breath of fresh air. He was very informative and honest about drink selections. Being new to the world of fine dining, he was quick to suggest the Limoncello digestive, as it was the easiest to drink. Meal prices cannot be faulted either. You would expect to pay a lot more for the kind of food you receive. Additionally, Im not sure if cocktails are on offer (we were not presented with the option), but being a fan of Margaritas, I would love to see these appearing on the drink list in the future.Thank you for a lovely evening! (and the body-guard/ security outside made us feel very safe as we waited for our cab.)
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Fantastic service. Excellent food - well done.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • I would like to thank 95 Keerom for simply the best experience. The food was fresh, simple, sophisticated - with a wonderful down to earth feeling. Well done!
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • We had excellet food BUT when the bill arrived we were most upset. We had been charged extra per basket of bread which we had not even ordered. When we asked for the manager, a young lady came to the table who informed us it is on the menu. We then requested our waiter,who had been most charming, to please call the owner. We were told the owner was too busy to come. To crown it all, another waiter then approached our table and asked our waiter if he was winning?. This is very rude and I am sorry to say not one of our party of 6 will be returning to this restaurant.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • We love 95 Keerom. Every holiday in Cape Town we make sure to book a table in advance... and now with the new restaurant, CARNE, just in front its THE adress in town! well done!
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Jorgen. I am sorry to hear of your unsatisfactory experience at 95. I take your bad experience very seriously,however, without the details of your dining experience I find it very difficult to now rectify a problem which we could have easily resolved on the night. As a restaurant owner I can use this forum as a source of information to solve such problems in my restaurant, but that means that the consumer needs to provide the restaurant with more details of the occasion in question ie,date, full name, waitron name etc. To just mention that the wine was warm and the service poor does not provide sufficient information for effective action to be taken.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • After having spent a gorgeous week in Cape Town eating our way through several outstanding places, this is the place we liked the least...by far! There was nothing wrong with the food. It was OK but not to justify the usual accolades for this restaurant. The wines we had were a disaster. You simply do not serve a Sauv Blanc at room temeprature and a red wine at 30 degrees. The service was slow and not very impressive. Our vedict is to steer clear of this restaurant. You can get much better bang for your rand.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Have heard such great things over the years about 95 Keerom and finally got to experience this for myself Tuesday past. What unfussy, delicious food, one really is reminded that the simpler the better... The service was great, our waiter was very professional and it is such great value. We will definitely be back very soon.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • My husband and I went to 95 Keerom on a date night and had an exceptionally wonderful experience, from the super service, to the owner-chefs personal attention, to the highlight of the evening - the utterly delicious food. The line fish of the day tasted like it had been swimming in the sea five minutes before hitting the pan, and the ostrich fillet I couldve cut with a paté knife it was that tender. Portions are just right and there are no plate fillers, unless you choose them. With his fish my husband had a potato bake and with my melt-in-the-mouth ostrich I had spinach. Clean and simple, but oh soooo yum. We left having had all five senses thoroughly satisfied.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • I am so surprised that this restaurant has not made the top 10. It must be one of the best authentic Italian experiences in the country. Yet it only seems that 95 is valued by the few who has knowledge of real modern Italian cuisine. Keep on Giorgio, eventually you will convert the Eat Out clientele...
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • We went recently and had a splendid evening. The service was the best weve ever had. Our waiter, Sven, was a complete star. He was always there just when we needed something, but we never felt like he was intruding. He also had a great sense of humour! The food was simply superb and there is nothing we can complain about. Everything arrived on time and was made to perfection. Such an amazing restaurant hidden in the dark alleyways of central Cape Town!
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Ive been meaning to dine at 95 Keerom probably since it opened and I really dont know why Ive put it off for such a long time. What a fantastic evening. Service was honest and perfectly timed - the waitress was at the table just when you wanted her to be there and her and the chefs recommendations were superb. Im still salivating about the crayfish pasta (and the chocolate soufflé)I will definitely be back for more.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • from NY on holiday. Dinner with friends- party of 6- at 95- We loved the food, the place and the staff. After 2 weeks in SA, top bush camps and golf clubs, finally a very good a la carte menù. Very impressed with meat and fish. I am not for dessert but had to try Meringa and Chocolate Soufllè! Bravo to Chef Giorgio, the best in South Africa. We will send friends!
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Went there for 1st time with an Irish friend of ours who loves the finer things in life. Hes been to some of the finest restaurants in Cape Town and all over the world. He simply could not stop talking about the wonderfull food he had. My wife and I had the same wonderfull experience. We had the Fillet and Linefish- superb! Thank you. You will see us again and again.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Went there for 1st time with an Irish friend of ours who loves the finer things in life. Hes been to some of the finest restaurants in Cape Town and all over the world. He simply could not stop talking about the wonderfull food he had. My wife and I had the same wonderfull experience. We had the Fillet and Linefish- superb! Thank you. You will see us again and again.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Went there for 1st time with an Irish friend of ours who loves the finer things in life. Hes been to some of the finest restaurants in Cape Town and all over the world. He simply could not stop talking about the wonderfull food he had. My wife and I had the same wonderfull experience. We had the Fillet and Linefish- superb! Thank you. You will see us again and again.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • I am italian and I love italian cusine. The food in 95 keerom is wonderfull, I will come back.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • 95 keerom is simply the best in cape town. Chef, you are our favourite!
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • I had heard a lot about this restaurant and finally went there the other night. What a nice surpise to go to a restaurant that lives up to its reputation. The service was ok, but the chef personally came to the table to discuss the menu and various options - which was a nice touch. The butternut and sage ravioli starter was exquiste, Main Course was the rolled pork belly which had a nice combination of flavours - delicious. The ambience was upmarket yet friendly. Highly recommended.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • I`ve been to Cape Town 8-10 times, and this is my absolute favourite restaurant! The best Italian food I`ve ever had!
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • I am really disappointed about the top 10. Out of all the restaurants 95 Keerom always has such good reviews, more good than bad. However the other so-called top 10 have reviews bordering on hate! Makes you wonder how they choose the top 10!? Good quality food is unfortunately hard to find but 95 Keerom always delivers. 95 Keerom will always be mine and my family and friends number 1. See you soon 95, I look forward to coming back to sa and dining at your restaurant!
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • I dine out a lot and very rarely do I go back to the same restaurant after going there for a year because as always they charge more and offer less after this time period, but 95 Keerom still has the same quality as they did on the first day they opened to the public. I dont know how they do it because most other restaurants go downhill from the first day! I am such a fan and I believe their 4th year anniversary is coming up in December. Thank You Giorgio for all the hard work I know you have to put into a restaurant to still be fully booked every night! (I have to book 3 days in advance). See you next week for my fortnightly treat. Regards Andrew
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Very good- food, ambience and service. Still my favourite in cape town!
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • This week was a very special week for me. It was my birthday on friday and I got treated not once but twice this week to eat out. The first was with my lovely girlfriend and my dad at 95 keerom. The fist impression was how gorgeous the restaurant looks, both downstairs and upstairs with the tree in the upper dinning area just finishing off the whole look. Our food was simple, delicious and so tasty. The ravioli with butter and sage was excellent, as was my girlfriends 95 special and my dads carpaccio. My mains was so simplistic, yet unbelievably delicious. The trio of venison was perfectly cooked, a little bit of mustard and balsamic to add something to play with. I got exactly what I wanted, no fuss just melt in your mouth goodness. Finally the chocolate souffle, all i can say is Giorgio I will get that recipe one day! chocolatey decadence at its finest! Thanks for a really wonderful evening. On friday we ate at another top restaurant in Cape Town, it has been nominated for the top twenty, and it was my birthday so my girlfriend and I wanted to have a nice romantic dinner. The location was superb, the sommelier was a wonderful touch. Tasting the tamboerskloof pinot noir was very new to me, but it was fantastic. The food however was a let down. I really was dissapointed. I will go back though and try again, maybe it was just one of those nights.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • I have been wanting to go to 95 Keerom for a long time. Last night I finally had the pleasure of doing just that. It was fantastic, the owner/chef was so attentive and really made us feel special. I love Italian food and I can honestly say that it was delicious, in every way. I hope to be returning very soon...
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • I spend more than 10 year in Italy, living in North of Italy with my wife. Yes, not every italian can cook but we must say 95 KEEROM is one of the best and we are regular guest. Working in the city bowl I love my quick lunch and I still go for dinner with family and friends. The presentation of the food is just right ( yes not fancy and we like that!) Anyway we would love to have dinner at Olga, I cant wait to find any other in town cooking like the chef at 95!
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • After all the negative and certanly positive reviews on 95keerom i went back the dinner the other night. Having been there before i had a pretty good idea what the restaurant is all about. I am verry happy to say that nothing has changed to the way things are done there. Owner chef giorio explained as always the specials to the table, and with his accent some might, say they dont understand every word, it still creates an atmosphere of there is a restauranteur that cares. It is also nice to see that he has not fallen into the trap of over presenting the dishes, as it is always better to let the flavours do the talking. If i like to see a piece of art i will go back to the guggenheim to indulge in the visual aspects. Had a great evening my guest are still raving about my choice, will for sure be back for more
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Dear Olga, 95 Keerom is our favorite restaurant in town just because the food is genuine, simple and consistent......the menu is extensive and - thanks God!- no set menu, no fancy crockery or strange decorations! .......Chef, please, dont listen to her!
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Amanda Dambuza, I am very sorry for your disappointment. I was on the floor, as always, and if you had brought it to my attention I would have prepared any other dish to ensure that you left 95 happy. I hope that you give 95 another try. Thanks Giorgio
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Amanda Dambuza, I am very sorry for your disappointment. I was on the floor, as always, and if you had brought it to my attention I would have prepared any other dish to ensure that you left 95 happy. I hope that you give 95 another try. Thanks Giorgio
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • My husband and I went to 95 Keerom on Wednesday for dinner after recommendation by a colleague. I must say that we were very disappointed. It may have been an off day for them. I ordered lamb chops and they tasted off. I had a bit of an upset stomach when I got home. For the money we paid and what we got I am very reluctant to go back. There is a lot of hype about it but I cannot say as much. The decor is absolutely gorgeous though. Wine list quiet extensive.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • I just want to say I am so disappointed that both 95 Keerom and the Aubergine in Durban werent even nominated for the Top 20 this year. I am not going to claim to be a foodie but we travel often and take great pleasure in eating out a lot, predominantly based on reviews and reputation. On every occassion I have ever eaten at or heard people talk about the Aubergine, it has been simply superb. The owner has been on duty every time and the winelist and service are just brilliant. The same can be said for Giorgio and his beautiful restaurant, producing food every night that is just simply delicious. I then notice that Salt ( to whom which one of the judges is the paid consultant) has been nominated and I have never ever heard a single good word said from maybe 20 different people who have eaten there, myself included. Perhaps this is just really unfair, or just really Cape Town bias? Who are the better restauranteurs, the guys who are on duty every single night or consultants-judges who have sway with publishers to who get nominated.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Back to CT we are so glad that 95 is still as good as we remembered. We had great meat, fish and of course the ravioli. Desserts are super. Bravo! finally a very good menu, with lot of choice and great standard... we really dont understand why in South Africa people get so excitie with SPECIAL CHEF SET MENU .....in Europe it sounds so cheap! Marc and Emma from Paris!
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Had a great time once again
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • will be back for more
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Had a great time once again
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Outstanding
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Having had a outstanding lunch today i feel compelled to give 95 a outstanding rating. Verry well done to the 95 Team
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • 95 was closed for a month for renovations, I could hardly wait for them to reopen! I went last night (18 July) and the restaurant looks lovely, all nice and new. The food as always devine and the service, warm and friendly. Good job Giorgio, you havent lost your touch. Thank you for a wonderful evening!!!! See you soon.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • I thought I give 95 Keerom a try after all the all the hype it has been receiving. I must say that it is just simply a fantastic place to dine. The restaurant ranks amongst the top places that I have ever eaten in my life. It was not that the dishes were presented beautifully but were also cooked just perfect and tasted as good as it looked. WOW, worth every penny!!!
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • I love this restaurant, every special celebration is held here. From my wedding anniversarys for the past 3 years to birthdays of almost our whole family. Food is always superb, service attentive but unobtrusive. Thank you Giorgo!
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Just read Fiona review on 95 Keerom, mentioning the review on NY Times. British friend of mine, visiting SA on Christmas, booked at 95 Keerom before they arrived. They took along a copy on National Geographic Traveller, where they read about this great restaurant and the famous soufflé. Same for German guest with a golf magazine. We live in Johoannesburg and we believe 95 Keerom is one of the finest restaurant in SA, getting better and better (and not only for the soufflé!). Just wondering if South African press is aware about that...?
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • The review on the New York Times was very positive and thats why we book here but the experience has been above expectations! For sure the best we have tried in Cape Town. The chef/patron here really knows what to do with the best ingedients! Well be back and already sent friends.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • As an italian living in NY, I am amazed to find the best italian food in Cape Town, at 95 KEEROM!!! Every single dishes we tried was perfect! (.patè ...pasta crayfish, ravioli, gnocchi, linefish, pork, lamb chop, choch souflee, MERINGA! tiramisù....)Just mentioning the FIORENTINA, finally somene know how to grill the meat in this Country! (worldwide to grill doesnt mean to burn the meat and then cover it with sauces!) And the free range OSTRICH liver patè??? umbeliavable!Hei Chef, come to the big apple...this city is too little for you!
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • On my first time in South Africa, it has been refreshing, after two weeks of strange foods, to land at this restaurant to have a meal as if I was at home in Italy. Great wine, very good, home made pasta and delicious dessert! What could you ask more?
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • An amazing experience I would love to share with everyone. A restuarant with unique class and true Italian cuisine. The meal was scrumptious and the dessert absolutely breathtaking. I would sincerely recommend the chocolate soufle. The chef making a personal appearance and giving his advice on various meals, adds to the warm atmosphere of 95 Keurom. Looking forward to returning there soon!
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • 95 keerom is always the best in cape town,ambience, service and on top of everything FOOD! Had dinner with 6 friend, private rooms are great, feel the vibe of going out but with your privacy. Consistency is the word. Just not like most of other restaurant in SA where you will be disappointed with all this fancy- fusion- tower of food and flavours!! Thanks to the owner/chef to keep on doing so well.This restaurant should be in Milano, London, Paris or NY, but we are happy to find it in SA, to make our stay here perfect!
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food

Facilities

  • Accepts credit cards
  • Booking required
  • Cocktails
  • Dinner
  • Dress code
  • Eat Out reviewed
  • Food
  • Functions
  • Licensed
  • Parking
  • Serves food
  • Takeaways
  • Wheelchair

Write a review

Nearby Restaurants

Featured restaurants

Eatout