Venues

A’la Turka Speciality Restaurant

A’la Turka Speciality Restaurant
Write a Review
  • Phone Number 011 203 4044 or 011 203 4605
  • Location Yadah Castle, 1522 Sterkfontein Avenue, Doringkloof East, Pretoria
  • email info@alaturka.co.za
  • Website URL http://www.alaturka.co.za
  • Opening Hours

    Breakfast: Monday to Sunday 9am to 5pm

    Lunch: Monday to Sunday 11.30am to 5pm

    Dinner: Monday to Saturday 6pm till close

Is this your venue?

Claim it now!

Please or signup in order for you to claim this venue.

Cost
R150 avg main meal
Ambience
Authentic culture, Classic elegance, Contemporary cool
Food
Greek, Middle Eastern, Modern, Turkish
Payment
Amex, Diners Club, Mastercard, Visa

Critic's review

Alida Ryder

Food
A La Turka is one of few Middle Eastern restaurants in the Pretoria food scene but it does it so well, you won’t need to go anywhere else for your fix. Their menu includes many hot and cold mezze options and for a jovial, shareable meal, order a few small dishes for a proper feast. The tzatziki is creamy and heavily seasoned with fresh mint and dill and is perfect for dipping with one of their warm pita breads. The spinach and feta borek (deep-fried phyllo pastry rolls) are absolutely addictive and is easily the highlight of a meal.

If you are after something heartier, the lamb kleftiko is a great option. Lamb shanks are slow-baked with garlic, tomatoes and olive oil and served with fresh herbs and feta cheese. The kebab selection is impeccable with the doner kebab being a favourite. Slices of lamb and beef are spread onto a warm pita with yoghurt and covered in their secret sauce. Simply delicious. Alternatively, go for one of their many set menu options with a range of prices, it's good for big groups dining together. For something lighter, they also have a range of salads and soups available.

For a sweet end to your meal, try the Turkish delight ice cream or oriental halva. The baklava is perfectly crisp and drenched in syrup but can be a little over-baked and dry.

Drinks
Their wine list is categorised according to the estates they stock which include the likes of Neil Ellis, Altydgedacht, Glen Carlou and Spier. They have a good range of wines available by glass as well as MCC and a few champagne options. They also have a good selection of whiskies, cognac and brandy as well as a long list of shooters to choose from.

Service
The staff are exceptionally friendly, from the gate guard to the waitrons serving your food. Meals are served promptly and efficiently.

Ambience
Set in the exotic-looking Yadah castle, A La Turka is beautifully decorated with rich fabrics, jewel-tones and Middle Eastern antiques and trinkets. Seating options include standard tables as well as seating around low tables on comfortable pillows in “tent-like” structures decorated with draped fabrics. They also have many private dining rooms all decorated in the lush style of the rest of the restaurant. Evening meals are accompanied by their excellent belly dancers entertaining the crowd and results in a very enjoyable experience.

And..
This is the perfect restaurant for a celebratory meal or a fun night out. The food and ambience work well together, transporting you to exotic locations with each mouthful.

(September 2016)

Eat Out reviewers dine anonymously and pay for their meals in full. Click here to read our editorial policy.

 

  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Food
  • Diane de Beer

    Food
    This establishment has been around for almost a decade, but may how finally have found the right home for their extravagant dining experience. Set in what appears to be a castle, they have upped the game with their Turkish-slanted décor, with the menu equal to the task. The choices are wide-ranging and they have different menu options with portions that stretch much further than they might suggest. With their own gardens, the breads and pitas all freshly made, hummus that could be Turkish, Lebanese or Greek, it’s a feast. For a luxurious affair, select their high-end menu titled the Ottoman Table (R295 per person), which could easily stretch to two with a few add-ons. It starts with a meze including tzaziki, tabbouleh, hummus, kizartma (a glorious mix of lightly fried carrots, potato, green and red pepper and aubergine, blended with garlic, yogurt and paprika, herbs and olive oil), dolmades and baba ganoush. The next platter is dominated by meat, including doner kebabs with sliced lamb and beef on hot pita with yogurt, shish kebab (lamb skewer) and Adana kebab (minced leg of lamb) and Tavuk shish kebab, which is a delicious chicken on a skewer. Add to that Devine borek (spinach and feta wrapped in phyllo) and you’re done for the night. Then there’s more. You have to conclude with something sweet like a traditional baklava and for extra punch, a Turkish coffee.

    Drinks
    From the Krone Borealis Brut Vintage Cap Classique to a more swanky Moët & Chandon if you’re celebrating. They support a number of wine estates like Spier, Muratie, Glen Carlou and Boekenhoutskloof, or you could quietly get in the mood with a still or sparkling rosewater. The list is excellent, with many different price options.

    Service
    Dressed for the part with a red fez to finish the look, staff members are informed, on the ball and quick to help with anything you might need.

    Ambience
    First decide how you want to spend the meal. You can do it inside in the larger dining room where magic is created with the switch of 40 light bulbs, on the balcony with spectacular sunsets and views of the Gauteng horizon, outside around a festive table, or an intimate table for two in a secluded spot in the garden. Or perhaps in one of the many private dining spaces, which might include lounging on richly coloured cushions while you sip at your wine and receive a spectacular meal. That’s just for dinner. There are many different options, from a Turkish breakfast to a brunch. Or if you want to entertain a group of special friends, speak to the owners about kitchen teas and conference facilities.

    And…
    There are many shopping opportunities, from clothes to jewellery, they’re also opening a hammam (Turkish bath) and in the future, a 200-seater theatre.

    (August 2015)

  • Kristia van Heerden

    Book a special room with a long table, sit on the floor, enjoy a belly dancing show and smoke a hukkah with a cup of Turkish coffee after dinner. An exotic and unique experience, combining the exotic with the everyday. Delightful for a special occasion or a vibey Friday / Saturday night. The meze platter is fresh, fragrant and delicious. (July 2013)

User reviews

  • Date night at A'la Turka transported us to Turkey for the evening. Beautiful architecture and friendly staff as we entered the grounds welcomed with a drink and a open fire on a winters night. My boyfriend and I had the Sultan's set menu. Delicious variety and huge portions. Excellent service from all the waiters. The belly dancing made the evening more enjoyable. Thank you to the staff for alerting us that my boyfriend forgot his cellphone as we exited the venue. Will definitely return with friends and family.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • HOW COOL that this restaurant has employed a transgender dancer! I think its great considering how times have changed! I would never say that lovely redhead with the six pack was a man before. You guys rock. Place is pretty, servic is ok and the food is good. good job.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • What an amazing restaurant. the décor, food and service was excellent. We went on a Tuesday evening, so it wasn't busy, but please go and see for yourselves, its a great venue for large groups, or small who want to experience something completely different.... and they also have an amazing wine selection.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • We were a large crowd and celebrated a birthday in one of the private dining areas. The food was delicious, the ambience lovely and the experience awesome. The venue is truly beautiful. Our guests all enjoyed the evening!
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Terrible experience. No service, disgusting food and zore ambience. If you like to wait hours for terrible service and get ineatable food, then this is the place for you. Expensive as hell with the odacity to include a service charge!!! Don't waste your well earned money on this.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Written by Anastasia on Nov. 18, 2014 A Venue in a Class of its own... A'la Turka Restaurant @ Yadah Castle Has been a Exquisite Experience, I was a guest at the Year End Function for I @ Consulting firm Saturday 15 November, and it was a beautiful Elaborate Affair. The Guest of honor arrived in a limousine, all the Guests were in tuxedo's, suits and Stunning cocktail dresses. The tables were set beautifully with priceless brass centre pieces and lavish red rose bouquets and more. The food was fresh, unique and lovely, to say the least. As for entertainment, it was a mind blow, from authentic Bellydancers, they also ha strictly come Dancing team and the blue room singers,excellent , excellent, excellent entertainment. The Beautiful castle setting, It truly is an out of this world experience for Pretoria. Thank you Ala Turka for excelling our expectations on all levels and I @Consuling for choosing the classiest venue and the exceptional Babor gift sets and The Carrol Boyes signature gifts....A Fabulously Classy Event. A MILLION THANX ..MERRY CHRISTMAS xxx ​ E-mail: anastasia@gmail.com
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • A venue for kings..we had our year end function at Ala Turka Restaurant for our school on Thursday evening...and it was a magical experience to say the least. A breathtakingly beautiful setting. The service was excellent, staff are Well trained,the management at Ala Turka were extremely Professional, The owner Mr Gokhan was An excellent host, thank you for all the extras you are the success of your business, and Wouter thank you so much you really helped with the smooth excellence of our event, you are in the right place to learn from the best. We look forward to many more functions at your place.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Once more I have to say that: ambiance is great, the service is excellent, the food is the best. It was my mother's birthday last Friday, and she wanted to have it at Ala Turka. I have never seen her so happy at any of her birthday. They made her feel so special that she can't stop talking about it. We were 18 people and all has left with a big happy smile on their face. Thank you owners, thank you Ala Turka staff for always being 5 star.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • With great expectations we went to A la Tutka at their new Yadah Castle premises. And as great as the ecpectations wete, so was the dissapointment. Not only did the staff not understand their surroundings, but so did the mezze platter's dishes taste all bland and took one pickled chillie to revive our taste buds. Suggestion, travel and experience the real thing before you dish it up.
    If the mezze taste like nothing, how can one consider ordering a main course.
    The erratic decor adds to the dissapointment.
    Vastly over priced for a mediocre experience.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • The atmosphere is amazing! Staff are friendly and attentive. The manager is very professional and hospitable. I have been there twice and in both occasions the experience was the same.
    I do feel it's abit expensive for the quality and quantity of food. Most of the food is served on skewers and Meze style - and the average price for this is around R150. The menu can be deceptive on the pricing too - watch out for that and double check items with the waiter. You also pay for the entertainment over the weekend - unfortunately on both times I was there - the table we were seated at could not see the entertainment at all - so we paid for the imagination.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Ala Turka is the most fabulous restaurant I have ever been to. We saw it first when they were still in the mall, but never had the opportunity to go. They have subsequently moved to new premises and wow what an experience. I was surprised by my boyfriend last night and taken there for dinner. He proposed and we got engaged at the restaurant. What an absolutely pleasant experience. Everything was amazing. The owner himself came to congratulate us. Stefan helped with everything and the staff were fabulous. We were so impressed we couldn't stop talking about it. I will definitely go there again. Absolutely stunning. Everything was arranged perfectly, from the flowers, champagne, food etc. We were treated like royalty.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • A'La Turka in Pretoria, is the WORST restaurant I have ever been to!

    We had to order Drinks twice (the first time they forgot half of what was ordered). I needed a new menu, as mine was missing 4 pages, before we could order starters - Mains also needed to be reconfirmed. We sat outside (not knowing this place has NO protection to offer against rain), so when we got our starters - it started raining...

    Got NO assistance from their staff... We struggled with the umbrellas (which is meant to offer shade during the day) - but these did not even work sufficiently (One even had a pin missing).

    After looking for quite some time for the Waitress - my parents (who my sister and I tried to surprise for their 32nd Anniversary - they are 55 and 56) said they are leaving now, because this is really terrible and unacceptable.

    We were both mortified, as we planned a special evening with something different for them. I phoned the restaurant afterwards to enquire what the drinks bill is, but I was refused the opportunity to speak to the owner, after my request to speak to the Manager was ignored on several requests. I sent a complaint to the owner – and instead of apologizing, he threatened me... He still demands that we pay for food we did not eat (we are not the type of people who would want to eat a warm meal in the cold rain without any cover provided - as mentioned the restaurant's staff did not even want to assist us to carry the food, and did not offer any help at all), and for the supposed “Belly Dancers” that was not even at our table!

    Their argument is that the rain is not within their power - yet they fail to take responsibility of not having any cover outside - they also do not mention this anywhere... There was also no space inside... What an utterly DISGUSTING experience and terrible ownership!
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • We went there for a romantic dinner on Saturday and were not impressed at all with the horrible service. As we sat down, we had to beg another waiter (not ours) to at least bring us some water and glasses for our wine. We had to wait for at least half an hour for the waiter to clean the table between courses. We then had to keep asking for the bill at the end of the night. The waiter did not check if all was ok or nothing. The food is too overpriced and the service was horrendous. Definitely not a place I would recommend!

    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • The most hidden treasure in the true restaurant industry in Pretoria ever. The most vibe inducing hip place to be seen. It's going to blow your mind and the food is fabulous - yum!

    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Comments, We regularly go to A'laTurka. After 12 great days holiday in Turkey, we could't wait to go back to A'la Turka. And yesterday the whole family were there and had a great lunch with amazing Turkish food again. Their staff offers the best in hospitality I must say. But now I know that comes from their home land, Turkey. Absolutlely most friendly and amazingly helpful, fun and honest people in their country. We love A'laTturka a thousand times more than before. J & M Vosloo

    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • I experienced A'la Turka for the first time on Valentine's Day, and it was amazing to say the least. The quality of the food was fresh and delicious, for someone not to experience this amazing gem, due to a comment on hello Peter, (whic exposes your character flaw as a person) - what a sad reality. I will definitely be back.

    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Wow, wow, wow - what an awesome experience. Valentine's dinner was stunning at A'la Restaurant Irene village. My first time and I must say I was blown away. I have never been in a restaurant with such a magical atmosphere in my life, I felt like a queen relaxing on a daybed, while being served superb meze and kebabs and being enchanted with amazingly talented oriental dancers. To top it all  off the romantic atmosphere inspired my partner to propose. Yippy, I'm getting married. Thank you A'la Turka, an unforgettable experience. N

    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Excellent food and excellent service. Wonderful experience!

    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • We went to A la Turka restaurant on the 28th of September. We were a party of 6. 5 of us decided on the "ottoman" menu which is a set menu for R195. Firstly, our waitress was more interested in playing a drum than serving us which meant we had to wait a long time for our food. We all got a small pita with various sauces for a starter. Then the main meal came which was one platter of food to share. Each of us got one piece of a lamb kebab, one piece of a chicken kebab and one spoon of another meat. Our platter was the same portion of food as a party of 2 sitting across from us but we were 5 and had to share. The manager was rude and laughed when we inquired about the portion size. He then offered to sell us more meat. In the end we left with a R1600 bill, all still hungry and frustrated with the poor service. I am of the opinion that this is against the consumer law as they do not state on their menu the sizes of the meat to be served.

    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Mr Kevin Thomas,
    I was at ala Turka that Friday night helping my friends when you and your wife were there. You had a great night and you never complained about the food and service, actually you were amazed with it, your words. Later you went to the smoking room and asked for hubbly. You were not happy with it or you didnt know how to smoke it. When you complained about it Manager Riaan apologised and tried all the other pipes which you said they dont work properly. He canceled the hubbly from your bill, but your wife kept on going on about it and insulting everything and everyone. When you came downstairs you wanted to carry on about it with another manager and throw tantrums at the reception. They kept apologising and tried to handle you very professionally. Your wife pulled the manager from his chin to lift his head and said he must look at your face while you talk. They were listening your insults and swearing for more than five minutes. Then you refused to pay the gratuity. They said no problem, but you were still going on and next thing you refused to pay the bill. As there was no reason for your mannerless behavior against their politeness. You tried to walk away and they had to call the security to make you pay for your food and alcohol that you enjoyed so much but refused to pay. You threatened them, that you would scream and disturb the other guests in the restaurant and you throw a wooden bill box to the face of the manager. Then they ask you to pay and live immediately. You paid what you owed and left the place by screaming and swearing with F words. Now we all saw what happened actually. What I am doing is reminding you what you did and what you forgot to write on your review here. You have no right to make anybodys name bad with your false story and false comments which those guys can still sue you for that with all the witnesses and camera recorded. My advice to you is that you think twice before you say anything and watch when you take alcohol, you might be too old to drink too much of it. best regards
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • This is a classic example of a novelty restaurant where the food and service are secondary considerations! It is possibly the only Turkish/Middle Eastern restaurant in the area and, when combined with the attraction of the belly dancers,it has become a special occasion destination. The food is mediocre at best, the service indifferent and the smoking/bar area upstairs a total disgrace, it is too small with too much furniture. Shisha or Hubbly Bubbly is offered but cannot be provided - nobody knows how to set up, clean and maintain the equipment.
    Rather dont offer it - and definitely do not try and charge - as happened to us and others!
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • Wow, what a venue! This is not just a restaurant with a difference, it is by farone of the most enchanting, awesome experiences weve ever had in any restaurant in SA. It is a true journey from the minute you walk through the door with amazing hosts, fab music and a group of the the best trained belly we have ever seen this side of the Sahara desert. The food was amazing. It was my kitchen tea and a surprise so I had no idea. The attention was flawless, the restaurant even has a belly dancer boutique and dance studio. On arrival I was whisked away like an Arabian princess to be dressed like an exotic belly dancer. Our whole group were amazed at the effort the restaurant team made to serve with excellence while they had over 200 guests. A special thanks to Judith and Liberty for a great job and also Gokhan the owner for outstanding client care and diplomatic professionalism. Keep it up we will be back.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food
  • I am very disappointed in the service we received from Ala Turka on Valentines Day. My boyfriend booked a week in advance for us to eat at Ala Turca, he was not allowed to pick seats telephonically, and apparently they do not allow that. We were put at the worst possible table next to the door and directly next to a speaker. We have sent a complaint directly to Ala Turka via email. We have yet to receive any response from management. It would seem the way they handle complaints is too completely ignore them. We ended up leaving the restaurant as (according to them ) they did not have a better spot available. We had to look for another place too eat at the last minute.What a disappointment.
    • Ambience
    • Service
    • Food

Facilities

  • Booking required
  • Child friendly
  • Dancing
  • Dinner
  • Food
  • Functions
  • Licensed
  • Live entertainment
  • Lunch
  • Parking
  • Serves food
  • Smoking
  • Takeaways
  • Vegetarian
  • Wheelchair

Write a review

Featured restaurants

Eatout