Announcing the extraordinary editorial panel who determined this year’s Eat Out 500

The Eat Out editorial panel have spent months reviewing hundreds of nominations for the list of the top five hundred restaurants in South Africa. As reviewing season draws to a close, we can now introduce the panel who selected the definitive list of restaurants that form the Eat Out 500.

To start our nationwide search for top restaurants, Eat Out opened nominations to the public who suggested their favourite restaurants. Panelists then visited and reviewed the quality of the food, wine or beverage selection, service and ambience in these eateries.  All of their feedback has been compiled and is ready to form part of our national restaurant guide. “It’s an impressive list – the panelists and the restaurants – and makes for exciting reading,” says Anelde Greeff, editor-in-chief of Eat Out.

The Eat Out 500 will debut in the 17th annual issue of Eat Out magazine which will be on shelves from 17 November 2014. Ticket holders to the 2014 Eat Out Mercedes-Benz Restaurant Awards in Cape Town will receive exclusive launch copies a day earlier at the glamorous event on 16 November in Cape Town. Tickets to the event are available via Webtickets.

And so, without further ado, we’re proud to present the list of over 30 industry experts, food journalists and editors who determined this year’s list of top South African restaurants:

  • Alida Ryder, Food blogger and author, Simply Delicious;
  • Anelde Greeff, editor-in-chief, Eat Out;
  • Aubrey Ngcungama, Come Dine with Me SA star, ambassador for the One & Only;
  • Bazil Stander – Chef and founder, The Food Innovation Company;
  • Bernadette le Roux, Editor, Condé Nast House and Garden, Gourmet;
  • Cathy Marston, Freelance writer, wine educator and author;
  • Charlotte Pregnolato, Freelance writer;
  • Colette du Plessis, Freelance writer;
  • Diane de Beer, Journalist, Pretoria News;
  • Frank Chemaly, Chief sub-editor, Sunday Tribune and food critic, The Mercury;
  • Graham Howe, Wine and food editor, Habitat;
  • Greg Landman, Freelance food & wine writer;
  • Gwynne Conlyn, Freelance broadcaster and lifestyle writer;
  • Hennie Fisher, Culinary arts lecturer, University of Pretoria;
  • Ishay Govender-Ypma, Freelance writer, food blogger, recipe developer;
  • Jeanne Calitz, Deputy editor, Eat Out;
  • Jodi-Ann Pearton, Owner of The Cookie Design Emporium and The Food Design Agency;
  • Kate Ziervogel, Freelance writer, owner, South Coast Live;
  • Katharine Jacobs, Online editor, Eat Out;
  • Leila Saffarian, Freelance food blogger, editor and writer;
  • Lentswe Bhengu, Chef and presenter, Africa on a Plate;
  • Linda Scarborough, Copy editor, Eat Out;
  • Marie-Lais Emond, Freelance editor and writer;
  • Mokgadi Itsweng, Food editor, True Love;
  • Paula Mackenzie, Onconsumption manager at Vinimark – The Wine Company;
  • Petro Lotz, Owner, Appetito Catering and Cooking School;
  • Richard Holmes, Freelance food and travel writer;
  • Rupesh Kassen, Chef and freelance writer;
  • Thulisa Martins, Food Editor, Food and Home Entertaining;
  • Tracy Gielink, Freelance food and wine writer;
  • Tudor Caradoc-Davies, Freelance food and travel writer; and
  • Zama Memela, Founder and Head Chef at Easy Eating.

For enquiries about the awards, email Julie Potgieter at Visit for more information follow @Eat_Out on Twitter and like the Eat Out Facebook page.

1 Comment

Leave a comment

Promoted Restaurants